Breaking down the curriculum in Western Australia

General education in Western Australia

The Western Australian education system is split into fivedifferent phases of schooling — Early Childhood (Kindergarten to Year 2),Middle to Late Childhood (Years 3 to 6), Early Adolescence (Years 7 to 8),Middle Adolescence (Years 9 to 10) and Late Adolescence/Early Adulthood (Years11 to 12). In the Early and Middle Childhood years, the emphasis is on literacyand numeracy skills. When students move into Late Childhood and EarlyAdolescence, the focus shifts to include all eight learning areas. In MiddleAdolescence, there is increased emphasis on choosing learning pathways andbuilding individual learning needs before students focus on their ownstrengths, interests and goals in senior secondary years as they work towardsthe Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE).

Western Australian curriculum in Years 7 to 12

The Western Australian Curriculum for Pre-primary to Year 10includes the Australian Curriculum for English, Mathematics, Science andHistory. The next phase of the rollout will see Humanities and Social Scienceand Health and Physical Education implemented in 2017. The Arts, Technologiesand Languages will the follow on in 2018.

In Years 11 and 12, students complete the Western AustralianCertificate of Education. 

Popular schools
Browse more schools

Become a member

Already a member? LoginForgot password?

Join the conversation