Australian Capital Territory school term dates

2021 Australian Capital Territory School Term Dates

The first day of Term 1 is a student-free day in government schools, where only teachers are required to attend. Other student-free days vary from school to school, so you will need to check with your school for details.

In addition, schools are also closed on public holidays that fall outside the term holidays, such as Australia Day, Labour Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, ANZAC Day and Queen’s Birthday.

Because metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas may differ in the public holidays that they recognise, the public holidays observed vary depending on the locality of the school. (See a full list ofAustralian Capital Territory public holidays.)

While non-government schools generally adhere to the listed term dates, they can develop term dates relevant to their own circumstances. Each non-government school's term dates will therefore tend to differ in some ways from government schools and from each other. Non-government schools may differ in the public holidays they observe and many do not grant student-free days, enabling students to have an extra week of holidays in the term breaks instead. Check with your child's school for details.

Australian Capital Territory


Term dates 2021


Term 1

1 February — 1 April (new students)

2 February — 1 April (continuing students)

2 April – 18 April

Term 2

19 April — 25 June

26 June – 11 July

Term 3

12 July — 17 September

18 September – 4 October

Term 4

5 October — 17 December

18 December – 1 February 2022

Popular schools
Browse more schools

Become a member

Already a member? LoginForgot password?

Join the conversation