NSW curriculum in Years 7 to 12

Do all schools have the same curriculum in Years 7-12?

Not yet. The development of a national curriculum continues and further information can be found on the NSW Education Standards Authority website. In 2015, schools in New South Wales adopted the Australian Curriculum for English, mathematics, science and history in Years K “10. Until the full roll-out of the national curriculum is complete, schools in New South Wales will continue to use the NSW K “12 syllabus in other areas.

All schools in New South Wales are required to deliver programs of study that follow the requirements of Board of Studies syllabuses. Courses offered at accredited schools must also satisfy the below prescribed hours for the School Certificate, as well as cover all of the mandatory content of the syllabuses.

In terms of a current 7 “10 curriculum, key learning areas are separated into the eight broad subject categories listed above. Mandatory requirements are as follows:

  • for English, mathematics and science, students must have completed 400 hours of study in each of the subject areas by the end of Year 10
  • creative arts, human society and its environment and languages subjects have a 100-hour requirement
  • personal development, health and physical education must have been studied for 300 hours
  • technological and applied studies have a curriculum requirement of 200 hours, most of which are recommended to take place in Years 7 and 8.
Popular schools
Browse more schools

Become a member

Already a member? LoginForgot password?

Join the conversation