General education in Queensland

The importance of a general education

Boys studying in classroomThe Queensland education system is split up into three phases: the ˜Early Phase of Learning ™ (Prep to Year 3); the ˜Middle Phase of Learning ™ (Years 4 to 9); and the ˜Senior Phase of Learning ™ (Year 10 and beyond). The Queensland secondary school journey culminates in the awarding of the Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE) at the conclusion of Year 12.

Following the 2015 introduction of Year 7 into secondary school, Years 7 to 9 is now known as Junior Secondary.

In the later years of study, Queensland schools build upon the learning and standards previously established and, in Year 10, create a clear pathway into Years 11 and 12 by establishing a rationale, learning statements, standards, assessment tools and course planning advice per key learning area. Advice is provided by schools on career development and work education, vocational education and training options and how to approach the QCE.

Each year, the QCAA holds a state-wide test for Year 12 students known as the Queensland Core Skills (QCS) test.

Popular schools
Browse more schools

Become a member

Already a member? LoginForgot password?

Join the conversation